When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes AirFor readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living n nAt the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a


The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the HorseThe Sunday Times Bestseller and New York Times Bestseller You will not be able to buy a beautiful book for Christmas for somebody you love Chris Evans n nA book of hope for uncertain times n nEnter the world of Charlie s four unlikely friends, discover their story and their most important life l


Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the Odds

Can't Hurt Me: Master Your Mind and Defy the OddsFor David Goggins, childhood was a nightmare poverty, prejudice, and physical abuse colored his days and haunted his nights But through self discipline, mental toughness, and hard work, Goggins transformed himself from a depressed, overweight young man with no future into a U.S Armed Forces icon



On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century

On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth CenturyA historian of fascism offers a guide for surviving and resisting America s turn towards authoritarianism n nOn November 9th, millions of Americans woke up to the impossible the election of Donald Trump as president Against all predictions, one of the most disliked presidential candidates in histor



21 Lessons for the 21st Century

21 Lessons for the 21st CenturyIn Sapiens, he explored our past In Homo Deus, he looked to our future Now, one of the most innovative thinkers on the planet turns to the present to make sense of today s most pressing issues n nHow do computers and robots change the meaning of being human How do we deal with the epidemic of fake



Everything is F*cked: A Book About Hope

Everything is F*cked: A Book About HopeFrom the author of the international mega bestseller The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F ck comes a counterintuitive guide to the problems of hope n nWe live in an interesting time Materially, everything is the best it s ever been we are freer, healthier and wealthier than any people in human history.


Homo Deus: A History of Tomorrow

Homo Deus: A History of TomorrowYuval Noah Harari, author of the critically acclaimed New York Times bestseller and international phenomenon Sapiens, returns with an equally original, compelling, and provocative book, turning his focus toward humanity s future, and our quest to upgrade humans into gods.Over the past century humank


12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to Chaos

12 Rules for Life: An Antidote to ChaosWhat does everyone in the modern world need to know Renowned psychologist Jordan B Peterson s answer to this most difficult of questions uniquely combines the hard won truths of ancient tradition with the stunning revelations of cutting edge scientific research n nHumorous, surprising, and informat


The Geometry of Holding Hands (Isabel Dalhousie #13)

The Geometry of Holding Hands (Isabel Dalhousie #13)n One of the author s most beloved characters is back and once again she will have to call upon her powers of deduction and her unflappable moral code to unravel a new philosophical mystery nIn Edinburgh, rumors and gossip abound But Isabel well knows that such things can t be taken at face value


De meeste mensen deugen

De meeste mensen deugenDe mens is een beest, zeiden de koningen Een zondaar, zeiden de priesters Een ego st, zeiden de boekhouders Al eeuwen is de westerse cultuur doordrongen van het geloof in de verdorvenheid van de mens n nMaar wat als we het al die tijd mis hadden n nIn dit boek verweeft Rutger Bregman de jongste in


Digital Minimalism: Choosing a Focused Life in a Noisy World

Digital Minimalism: Choosing a Focused Life in a Noisy WorldMinimalism is the art of knowing how much is just enough Digital minimalism applies this idea to our personal technology It s the key to living a focused life in an increasingly noisy world n nIn this timely and enlightening book, the bestselling author of Deep Work introduces a philosophy for tech


The Republic

The RepublicPresented in the form of a dialogue between Socrates and three different interlocutors, this classic text is an enquiry into the notion of a perfect community and the ideal individual within it During the conversation, other questions are raised what is goodness what is reality and what is kno


Meditations

MeditationsWritten in Greek by the only Roman emperor who was also a philosopher, without any intention of publication, the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius offer a remarkable series of challenging spiritual reflections and exercises developed as the emperor struggled to understand himself and make sense of the


Thus Spoke Zarathustra

Thus Spoke ZarathustraThus Spoke Zarathustra is a foundational work of Western literature and is widely considered to be Friedrich Nietzsche s masterpiece It includes the German philosopher s famous discussion of the phrase God is dead as well as his concept of the Superman Nietzsche delineates his Will to Power theo


Beyond Good and Evil

Beyond Good and EvilFriedrich Nietzsche s Beyond Good and Evil is translated from the German by R.J Hollingdale with an introduction by Michael Tanner in Penguin Classics n nBeyond Good and Evil confirmed Nietzsche s position as the towering European philosopher of his age The work dramatically rejects the tradition o